Tortillas are a delicious component of many people’s favorite foods. Burritos, enchiladas, quesadillas, and wrap sandwiches; all use tortillas as a key ingredient.
If you are health conscious you may be wondering what this means for your digestive system as well as your waistline.
Knowing whether foods have certain ingredients is important. This is especially true for people who may have food sensitivities.
Some people may restrict their consumption of certain things by choice, while for others it is due to medical necessity. This brings us to the question: do tortillas have yeast, dairy, and carbs?
Is There Any Yeast in Tortillas?
Yeast is a common ingredient that inflates bread. Since tortillas are meant to be flat, they do not usually contain yeast. This is good news for anyone with a yeast sensitivity or intolerance.
Flour tortillas, the type used in burritos, enchiladas, quesadillas, and wraps, typically do not have yeast in them. They are made using white flour, some type of fat such as lard or shortening, water, and salt.
However, there are a few additives to watch for when buying flour tortillas. Obviously, if yeast is listed among the ingredients on a package, that particular brand should be avoided. Sugar should also be avoided because it contributes to the growth of yeast.
You should also watch for hidden ingredients and fillers, such as yeast extract or MSG. Try to find a brand of tortillas that sticks to the simple ingredients: flour, lard, water, salt.
What Experts Say About Having Dairy in Tortillas?
Now that we have addressed the issue of yeast, you may be wondering, do tortillas have dairy? Let’s review the standard ingredients: flour, lard, water, and salt. When tortillas follow the traditional recipe they do not contain dairy.
However, like with yeast, it is important to search the ingredients list to confirm there is no dairy in your tortillas. Sometimes preservatives or fillers may be added, and some of these may contain dairy.
There are some obvious clues, such as seeing milk or cream listed among the ingredients. However, it is usually the more subtle ingredients that catch people off guard. Lactose, casein, and whey are all dairy products that may be used as fillers in some brands.
In most cases, tortillas do not contain dairy. It is always wise to verify this by checking the list of ingredients on the package, particularly if you have a dairy intolerance or allergy.
See Our Article On Are Tortillas Vegan?
Do Tortillas Have Carbs?
Carbs have become a buzzword in recent decades. Low carb and no carb diets have come in and out of favor. In addition, awareness of diseases such as Crohn’s and Celiac has risen. As more people are diagnosed, they are looking for ways to eliminate certain types of carbs from their diets.
It is important to note, that there are a wide variety of carbs, and depending on the goal not all of them may need to be restricted. Someone on a low carb diet may restrict all types of carbs, while someone with Crohn’s or Celiac Disease may only restrict certain types.
The question remains; do tortillas really have carbs? The answer is yes. Flour is the primary ingredient in tortillas, and flour does contain carbs. There are alternatives to traditional flour tortillas if you need to restrict your carb intake.
Low carb and gluten free varieties provide a solution for those who still want to enjoy their favorite recipes. You can also try making your own tortillas at home. By substituting white flour for an alternative, such as almond flour, you can reduce the number of carbs and create your own healthy creations.
Tortillas can provide a healthy, delicious solution to mealtime. They are versatile and can be used in a wide variety of popular foods.
In addition, they also are typically yeast and dairy free as long as they are prepared in a traditional manner. It is always wise to double check and make sure that a particular brand doesn’t have any added ingredients you may be trying to avoid though.
While tortillas do have carbs, there are several solutions available. You can buy low carb or gluten free varieties at most grocery stores.
As an alternative, you can also try making your own tortillas. This gives you the power to control the ingredients that go into them. You can experiment with different types of alternative flours to find the perfect solution for your family.